For He’s A Jolly Good Fellow!

Have you ever wondered how your job has shaped you into the person that you are today?

I’ve been working since I was 17. In almost 10 years as an employee I’ve had five jobs until staying home with Noah.

Let’s reflect.

I’ve been a Sandwich Artist at Subway. (1yr)

Then off to Steak ‘n Shake or Chuck ‘n Shake as my father-in-law would tease. (5yrs)

I still believe that this job has made me who I am.

My friend worked there first so I thought it’d be cool to work with her.

However, the idea of talking to people I didn’t know for longer than “Hello, what sandwich would you like? Bread? Cheese? Veggies? Sauce? Combo?”….

….Simply freaked me out!

Then I got the hang of it. I began to really enjoy getting to know people. Being a part of their family meal experience & The Regulars. I still meet one of them for breakfast every once in awhile.

I then graduated college & began to pay my dues as a substitute teacher while waiting tables on Saturdays. (1yr)

Then I was finally teaching. I had my first real job at Bashor Children’s Home with behaviorally challenged students from area public schools. (1.5yrs)

That was pretty much the hardest job ever but I wouldn’t have been able to do it without the friends I made there! We still get together & do play dates with our kiddos.

I honestly learned so much about myself at Bashor. I even learned what behaviors of my own needed modifying.

I’m pretty sure I learned more about learning in those 19 months than I did in my 5 years of college.

Bashor has helped me look at how I communicate with others, how to problem solve difficult situations, how to talk about emotions, how to teach kids to be able to process their emotions, how to step back and let them learn, as well as many other skills.

With the plans of starting a family I then went to an office job. Summit Fiberglass. I learned real life skills here! (1yr)

My job was to work with vendors, customers, coworkers in the office, coworkers in the shop, my brother-in-law & his dad.

I learned about big picture thinking here. I saw how a fairly small company was run & was privy to some of the behind the scenes decisions. I enjoyed this job but once Noah was born, it couldn’t compete.

I’ve reflected on these working experiences because tonight we celebrate my father-in-law’s retirement.

He’s been dedicated & loyal to AM General for almost 30 years. Thirty Years! I haven’t even lived for as long as he’s worked there!

I can only imagine all that he’s learned while working for AM General. I have to imagine that at times he thought that it was too difficult & to go else where.

But to think that he’s stuck around through the ups & downs is pretty cool.

I’d say it’s rare for anyone to work for a company that long!

It was inspiring to hear from others what type of example he’s been over the years.

Tonight we celebrate your determination, hard work & dedication.

Happy Retirement, Dad!

Please leave your thoughts and feedback as a comment. Thanks!