Vacation Was Great!

Life has been a little busy since vacation so I haven’t had much time to sit and write. I’ve had to work on this post over a couple of days. I’m hoping to get back to writing more soon, but I don’t want to write just to write.

That being said, here’s my update on our vacation from a couple of weeks ago.

___________________________________

So unfortunately my little Noah baby wasn’t feeling well when we went to Holland, Michigan to visit family. He was a little out of sorts the day before we left but that didn’t impede getting packed for vacation. To read about our preparations click here .

As promised, I told you I’d check in to see if our preparations paid off.

True to my nature we were over prepared but not by much this time. Now we did take swimming stuff that we didn’t use but that was due to the combination of weather and Noah not feeling well. I only had a couple of extra outfits for Noah that we didn’t use. Plus I did have a lot of regular cloth diapers & an overnight diaper that we didn’t use. Yet, I feel like with a kid you always want to have extra clothes and diapers!

Vacation was nice a relaxing!

I’m fortunate enough, that I have an involved and supportive mother-in-law. She was very mindful of me as well as Noah while we were gone. It was nice that she’d ask me if I’d like to take a shower while she’d watch him or even prepare and eat a plate of food for myself while she fed Noah. I didn’t feel overwhelmed or alone in the midst of a crowd, thanks to her! I also know that I could ask for her help at anytime (and I did sometimes) but it is even better when she initiated.

When Noah is sick, he’s super snuggly.

The night before we left he woke up a couple of times, which is rare. So the last time before we needed to get up and going, we snuggled while he got a little extra sleep. The first night we were in Holland he woke up like 3 or 4 times before I went to bed, so I thought I’d let him sleep with me. I was thinking this would mean more sleep for both of us and if he woke I’d be able to easily get him back to sleep. Since the rooms we were all staying it were close together, I was hoping to not disturb everyone else when he woke up.

Worst. Idea. Ever!

I should have known better because I’ve seen this kid sleep on our video monitor.

He was all over the place!
Head in my back.
Feet in my back.
Arm over my chest.
Wiggling!

Then there were all the little noises he makes. I was up non stop to make sure he was still breathing, hadn’t fallen off the bed, readjusting how he was sleeping, and just normal tossing and turning. Thankfully, he slept in so I was able to get more sleep.

We also enjoyed taking in the outside scene.

Even though it wasn’t sunny, the temperature was still warm along with a warm breeze. We enjoyed looking at Lake Michigan while we were in the hammock swing atop the bluff. We also ate meals out on the deck while listening to the waves crash on the shore or boats going by. It was relaxing to just sit outside and talk.

Remember, I told you that you’d be jealous!

It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to visit with these family members. I’ve seen them but it’s normally difficult to truly engage in conversation. We normally see them at an event and we’re busy with Noah. It was nice to be able to interact in a low key setting, just doing every day things.

Overall, I’d say our preparations helped make the vacation less stressful.

Being surrounded by helpful made vacation relaxing.

Spending time caring for my sick son, even on vacation, was actually enjoyable. (Call me crazy but it’s because I love that little guy so much!)

I’m glad we were able to be with family even though we missed Chris.

Oh, and another tip…

Always unpack within 24 hours of being home. In fact the sooner the better. Otherwise, for us, we just end up leaving the suitcases in the way and slowly remove items as we need them.

So once we got home Noah and I took a nap. My nap was shorter so I unpacked before Noah even woke up. I was also able to start a load of cloth diapers and get us ready for our family event the next day.

We were back to normal in no time!

2 thoughts on “Vacation Was Great!

Please leave your thoughts and feedback as a comment. Thanks!