Selfless Sacrifices

Regardless of your stance on war, guns, world powers, politics, or necessary freedoms; those who have and are serving deserve at least a moment of respect today.

Individuals have fought for a cause they passionately believe in, freedom. Again, regardless of my personal thoughts, sacrifices were and are continuing to be made.

Individuals left the comfort of home, trained, served, and very likely have experienced a loss.

That may be a loss of a friend, an extremity, hearing, vision or just normal life experiences.

When they were away from home, life didn’t stop. Babies grew. Friendships changed.

When they returned life was different for them & they return with their war experiences.

I can’t speak to this situation with a lot of authority, as I don’t have a loved one that has served (during my lifetime).

What I do know, is that today’s celebrations were originally about more than a cookout.

Do your Memorial Day plans include a thank you, a phone call, a Facebook post, a thankful prayer or a gathering?

Our family is taking today to enjoy each other. That, in my opinion, reflects respect towards the military sacrifices. It’s a celebration of my personal value of family.

I appreciate those that have sacrificed, no matter how small.

I appreciate the families that sacrificed when their loved one is gone.

I appreciate the day to spend with family.

Perhaps, just a simple acknowledgement or display of empathy is how you decide to say thanks.

However you choose to celebrate, make today about more than a just cookout.

Please leave your thoughts and feedback as a comment. Thanks!